The university starts to live again

Since it’s August many new students arrived. Ryd – my previous place of living became “crowded” again (Japanese にぎやか nigiyaka fits here best).

But now it’s the third week of August and before-university activities for Swedish students start. Also the signs on the main road to university (märkesbacken) got repainted so that university looks colorful and welcoming again. (It was mostly winter’s gravel that destroyed the paint, but anyway it would have to be refreshed). It’s truly amazing that it is like that, that students gather and paint signs of their organizations. Sadly I missed the day of painting, as I didn’t know it’s happening… But yesterday I went there to see the ready signs, but there were still some people from smaller organizations painting theirs or fixing.

Photos from painting-event by Henrik Hedda Wallin and Spartak Zikrin (taken from facebook)

And also for the last week, when I was going to work I  met quite often funny-dressed people on the campus who were practicing for the current week their walks, among all dinosaur group, jedi group, footballplayers or people in kilts.

It’s actually so hard to believe all that happens at the university. For me the university is the place for studying, where I go to the lectures and labs and never wanna go back again to. But Swedes have fun at their universities, building are colorful and student-friendly, accessible at all times, associations/clubs have their own rooms, and organize a lot of their own events, constantly something is happening. And this 2 week entrance part is definitely awesome too. I wish I could have gone to a Swedish university from the start, not to that boring place my university is, and mostly all the other universities in Poland and around.

And I have to study for the upcoming exam… Gonna go to the university in a while probably. Hope there won’t be too many people there at such time.

Leave a comment